The Great Alone – Kristin Hannah

5/5 Stars
Reviewed by: Annie
Genre: Fiction, Historical Fiction
Published by: St. Martin’s Press, February 6th, 2018
Pages: 435

Get a Copy (CAD)Get a Copy(USD)

REVIEW

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

One of my all time favourite authors, and now a new all time favourite book. 

The Great Alone is masterful. It transported me into a part of the world I’ve never been, but after reading this book now feels so familiar to me. 

The Great Alone is a beautiful work of historical fiction that portrays the devastating yet alluring wilderness of the Alaskan landscape through the eyes of a girl as strong and as isolated as the state she calls home. 

“Alaska isn’t about who you were when you headed this way. It’s about who you become.” 

Could hardly put this one down. There are no small or secondary characters in this book, making it harder to hate and easier to love them all. You’ll be rooting for Leni and her mother before long.

Touches on the topics of love, fear, loyalty and the endurance of the human spirit. A true test of the will to survive.

Reads like a thriller. Fans of Tara Westover’s Educated and Kristen Hannah’s The Nightingale will love. 


Reviewed by: Annie


Trough the Amazon and Indigo affiliate programs, for every book purchased through a link on humankindbookclub.com, a small percentage of the sale goes back into the book club! If you like to buy your books online, consider purchasing through one of our links. Proceeds go directly back into the book club for meet up events, software and giveaways.

The Great Alone: A Novel
Get a Copy – Indigo
Get a Copy – Amazon (CAD)
Get a Copy – Amazon (USD)